Poetry and Prose

The Bell Song

            

The bell at the Sto. Niño de Cebu Basilica in Cebu City, PH.

I hear, I hear a song so sweet

Sweet as the chant on the goddess’ feet.

I hear, I sing the song so sweet–

Enchanting as echoes of seasons so blithe.


I hear the bell, it’s melody I love,

Tunes from naiads they seem were robbed.

I hear the song, I waited so long,

Ding dong…  ding dong…


I hear the bell, the song of yesteryears

Song from the depth of its fears.

The song so sad, embrace in melancholy

Like bittersweet goodbyes of you and me.


Ding dong…  I hear the song… ding dong

Of years blotted in right and wrong.

I hear the song… Yes! Finally

The bell song will set you free. 

Leave a Reply

