Poetry and Prose

Five Big Things

quotes-point-forward-iyanla-vanzant-600x411

Of all the things a man can get

These I keep ’til my last breath.

No wealth my shelf contain

But valuables for my daily routine.

First is a loving, forgiving heart

To keep the people I value from the start.

Second is an open-minded discerning

That I judge no one based on my own learning.

Third is a wonderful family

Who values and accepts my idiosyncrasy.

Fourth is the best circle of friends

Who shares with my joy and futile amends.

Fifth but above all is God

That I will see the world as His work of art.

In response to the Daily Prompt: Shelf

3 thoughts on “Five Big Things

Leave a Reply

