Hardships and Motivations: a Confession From a Troubled Mind

overcome

I tried to veer away from my port, but there is something that is holding me. Do I lack the motivation to move forward or it’s just a matter of being ready? Am I just too reluctant to venture another horizon or I am already contented with what I have now?

I’ve been into emotional and mental stress these past few days that my body is almost giving up. I always question myself why I am not running away from the hustle and bustle of the situation I am in. I am always thinking of giving up but just when I succumb to the idea, realities settle in. The fears and doubts start to shroud what used to be a good decision; and I always find myself holding on.

“There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

A friend advised me: “Why are you staying when you can find a greener pasture? You don’t punish yourself with this. Move along the tide!” That signals me to stop for a while and weigh my options. Yesterday before I went to bed, I asked myself again why I am holding on. Is it because I love what I am doing or I am afraid to venture out and cast my luck again?

Then I found my answer. This is the place I want to be and the challenges I have now will make me a better person!

I aimed for what I have now. I worked for what I have now. I watered the grass for it to be greener; and I wouldn’t want anybody to just take it away from me without giving a good fight. Challenges are constant. They determine your perseverance. They test your steadfast commitment to reach your goal.

Why should I run away from these challenges? Why should I let these people bring me down? I know my goal and the measures to reach it. The right path is already laid out. Now, it’s time to face the storm.ponder

Time taught me the right fighting skills and the ability to overcome obstacles in pursuing my dreams. If there’s one thing I need to learn now, that is to keep my feet low on the ground else my mouth may say something that can scar a human heart. Nonetheless, neither I would give up nor allow myself to suffer. I will not run as a coward.

There’s a tinge of fright in me. What if I am unable to fight the surge as the world expects me to do? Will I give up pretty soon? However, I always go back to the real reason why I am holding on—my dreams and aspirations. I have these tests because I rowed my boat farther on the same water to achieve my destination.

“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

At the end of the day, all of us are fighting for our dreams. Challenges may be hard to accept and deal with but they are the salt in our pursuit. They make the ride bumpy so we can appreciate the smooth road along the way. They blacken the sky so we may appreciate the clear blue one after each storm.

Whatever you experience now, never give up. Running away is an act of cowardice; and I know you are not terrified to overcome these adversities along the way. Rise and shine, for all you know you have changed the world!

Leave a Reply

